With the recent news that Twitter has been purchased, many users are looking for ways to delete their Twitter accounts. Additionally, users are learning that their private messages, or “DMs”, are not encrypted or protected. This means that they can be accessed by personnel at any time. In an effort to give users more control over their online privacy, we’ve created an easy guide that will show you how to delete your Twitter account. 

What Happens When I Delete My Twitter Account?

Before you make the move to delete your Twitter account, you may want to consider deactivating it first. Once your Twitter account is deleted, you will no longer be able to access the platform from that account. All of your Tweets, photos, videos, and DMs will be removed. It also means that your username will be available for other users to register. Some users may prefer to simply create a “shell” account to prevent anyone else from scooping up their usernames or impersonating them.

It’s important to gather your personal data from Twitter before you delete or deactivate your account. Twitter gives you the ability to download all of your data from their servers, but you must first request a copy of it from support. In some cases, Twitter can retain information from your deleted or deactivated account to maintain safety on the application. 

Now that you have your data, you can begin the next step: learning how to delete your Twitter account. 

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

Depending on the device you use, there are a few different ways that you can delete your Twitter account. Take a look below at the different alternatives across popular devices, such as iOS, Android, and desktop computers, and find the one that works best for you. From there, follow the steps to delete your Twitter account. 

Desktop

  1. Open Twitter and log in.
  2. Select the “More” button on the left-hand menu.
  3. Open the “Settings and privacy” option and select “Your account.”
  4. Select “Deactivate your account” at the bottom.
  5. Click on “Deactivate.”
  6. Type in your password and select “Deactivate.”
  7. Once the 30-day deactivation window is passed, your account will be deleted.

iOS

  1. Open the Twitter application and tap on your profile icon in the upper left.
  2. Click on “Settings and privacy” and select “Your account.”
  3. At the bottom, select “Deactivate your account.”
  4. Read the information on the next page and click on “Deactivate.”
  5. Enter your password and select “Deactivate” again.

Android

  1. Open the Twitter application and tap on your profile icon in the upper left.
  2. Click on “Settings and privacy” and select “Your account.”
  3. At the bottom, select “Deactivate your account.”
  4. Read the information on the next page and click on “Deactivate.”
  5. Enter your password and select “Deactivate” again.

Privacy and Security on Twitter

Twitter is one of the most widely used social networking platforms in the world. With billions of new Tweets every day, it can be overwhelming for some users. In other cases, many users have found that the platform is rife with hate speech, harassment, and similar complications. To keep yourself safe on Twitter, one of the best ways is to delete or deactivate your account. However, there are other ways to keep your account secure, including:

  • Using a strong password to protect your account
  • Setting up two-factor authentication
  • Reporting any suspicious or malicious users 
  • Blocking accounts that perpetuate harassment 
  • Avoid sharing personal or sensitive information
  • Never open any potentially dangerous links or files

Much like any other social media platform, it can be hard to keep yourself safe if you aren’t staying vigilant about your personal security. In some instances, the best choice may be to simply delete your account altogether. When that time comes, it’s important to remember to gather your private data from the platform before leaving. Regardless of whether you continue to use Twitter, the best choice is to keep yourself, and your personal information, safe.

Get Powerful Online Protection with PrivadoVPN

With PrivadoVPN, top-rated privacy and security are available at your fingertips. Simply open up the application on any of your devices, select a server, and connect. In moments, you’ll have access to hundreds of reliable global servers, streaming support, ad blocker, threat detection, and so much more. PrivadoVPN offers a user-friendly platform with powerful protection and a variety of incredible features to give you back control over your online privacy. Get started now and sign up with PrivadoVPN.

Download PrivadoVPN

Protect your privacy with a world-class VPN. Sign up for premium access to PrivadoVPN and get unlimited monthly data, access to 300+ servers from around the world, and up to 10 simultaneous connections. Get a top-rated VPN that can secure your privacy at home, at work, or on the go.
Sign up for PrivadoVPN today!

Write A Comment