Amazon is one of the biggest names in tech. With streaming services, delivery, smart devices, and more, it seems like Amazon has a place in each corner of the modern world. However, some users are looking to move away from the tech giant and permanently delete their Amazon account information. In this article, you’ll learn to delete your Amazon account in a few steps.

What Happens When I Delete My Amazon Account?

When you make the decision to delete your Amazon account, it’s important to consider a few different factors. The first thing to consider is that deleting your Amazon account is a permanent decision that cannot be reversed. When you elect to remove your account from Amazon’s database, you lose access to your data, shopping history, and more. This could be a problem down the road for users who hope to make returns or review past purchases on their accounts. 

Deleting your Amazon account means that you will lose access to more than just Amazon Prime. You will also lose access to the full suite of Amazon features, including:

  • Amazon Appstore
  • Amazon Prime
  • Amazon Pay
  • Amazon Drive
  • Amazon Photos
  • Amazon Music
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Amazon Fire TV
  • Amazon Echo
  • Amazon Alexa
  • Amazon Web Services (AWS)
  • Audible
  • comiXology
  • IMDbPro
  • Prime Video
  • Whole Foods Market

If you own any hardware that works alongside an Amazon account, such as an Alexa device or an Amazon Fire TV, you might need to create a new account and register these devices again. This can cause a lot of frustration for some users. However, if you’re looking to truly get rid of all your ties to Amazon, we can help. Take a look below for more information on how to delete your Amazon account permanently. 

Learn to Delete Your Amazon Account

Now that you know it’s an irreversible decision, the next step is to learn how to delete your Amazon account. Luckily, Amazon has a fairly easy process for removing your data from their system. Below, you can find step-by-step instructions for deleting your Amazon account. 

  1. Visit the following page to Close Your Amazon Account.
  2. Log into the Amazon account you want to delete.
  3. Read through the list of services that you will not be able to access after your account is deleted. 
  4. Download any relevant files or data from Amazon before moving forward, such as any photos from Amazon Photos. 
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select your reason from the dropdown menu.
  6. Tick the box beside “Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon Account and delete my data.” 
  7. Select the button below that says “Close My Account”. 
  8. Check your inbox for an email from Amazon with the subject “Confirmation Required to Close Amazon Account.”
  9. Click the button at the bottom of the email that says “Confirm Account Closure”.

Can I Re-Open My Amazon Account?

Unfortunately, there is no way to re-open or reactivate an Amazon account once it’s closed. If you want to continue using specific Amazon services while avoiding others, you will need to create a completely new account. This is especially important for those who have Amazon smart home devices, which require an active account to function. 

For example, if you have a Kindle or an Alexa device, you will need to open up a new account in order to continue using them. The same is true for those using Audible or other relevant apps that may not necessarily require direct access to Amazon. However, now that you have a second account, you can be more selective with the Amazon services you choose to utilize. 

Safe VPN for Multiple Family Devices

Secure Online Protection with PrivadoVPN

One of the many reasons that users close their Amazon accounts is to ensure the security of their data. If you want to keep your personal information safe, you need to do more than just delete your Amazon account. Using a reliable VPN is the best way to control your online privacy. 

PrivadoVPN makes it easy for you to get the secure Internet experience that you deserve. Simply load up the app, select a server of your choice, and connect. After that, you can enjoy all of your favorite online services without worrying about your privacy or security. Plus, with our powerful encryption settings and the ability to create up to 10 connections from one account, you can rest assured that your private data is safe. Want to learn more? Sign up today!

Download PrivadoVPN

Protect your privacy with a world-class VPN. Sign up for premium access to PrivadoVPN and get unlimited monthly data, access to 300+ servers from around the world, and up to 10 simultaneous connections. Get a top-rated VPN that can secure your privacy at home, at work, or on the go.
Sign up for PrivadoVPN today!

Write A Comment